The Dornier Do-24K and the Royal Dutch Navy

When you pay a visit to the new National Military Museum at Soesterberg Airfield you cannot help but be impressed by the huge flying boat on display there.

TFR03 014

It is a Dornier Do-24, almost similar to the “K” model operated by the Dutch Naval Air Service (MLD) in Indonesia. Designed largely to a Dutch specification it was first produced by Dornier Flugzeugbau GmbH’s Swiss subsidiary.
However, the contract with the Royal Dutch Navy stipulated these machines had to be built in the Netherlands. A production line was set up at Fokker’s Aviolanda subsidiary in Dordrecht and most of the 34 Do-24’s in use by the MLD were built there.

When the Germans occupied the Netherlands in May 1940 they laid their hands on the fully functioning Do-24 production line. Quick to recognize the unique advantages of this type of aircraft for Search And Rescue (SAR) operations, the Germans kept the production line going to equip their “Seenot Flugdienst”.
At least 159 Do-24’s of the improved ‘N’  and ‘T’  models were produced in Dordrecht between 1940 and 1944 (they were also produced in France on a smaller scale)

The machine seen here on display at Soesterberg is a Do-24T-3, originally produced in Holland and  until the mid 1960’s deployed by the Spanish Air Force  on SAR duties

For the sake of “Tempo Doeloe”  I attach a film fragment of a MLD Do-24K taking of from their Morokrembangan base near Surabaya

http://youtu.be/uYB0qRjTQEQ

About Kingsleyr

Thank you for visiting my blog! The posts you find here are a direct result of my research into aviation and military history. I use the information I gather as a foundation and background for my books. You may call the genre historical fiction, a story woven into a background of solid and verifiable historical facts. However, the period and region I have chosen to write about (late 1930's - 1950's in South-East Asia) are jam-packed with interesting information and anecdotes. If I'd used them all I would swamp the stories. So this blog is the next best thing. It is an "overflow area" in which I can publish whatever I think will interest you. And from the reactions I get, I deduce I am on the right track. A lot will be about aviation in the former Dutch East Indies. This, because my series of books ("The Java Gold") follows a young Dutch pilot in his struggle to survive the Pacific War and its aftermath. But there's more in the world and you'll find descriptions of cities, naval operations and what not published on this blog. Something about myself; I am a Dutch-Canadian author, living in, and working out of the magical city of Amsterdam. My lifelong interest in history and aviation, especially WW2, has led me to write articles and books on these subjects. I hope you'll enjoy them!
This entry was posted in Dutch East Indies, Historical Background, Pacific War and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Dornier Do-24K and the Royal Dutch Navy

  1. Nicky Kagle says:

    I must show thanks to the writer for rescuing me from this incident. After looking through the world wide web and coming across advice that were not productive, I figured my entire life was well over. Living without the approaches to the problems you’ve fixed by way of this review is a critical case, as well as ones which might have negatively affected my career if I had not come across your blog. Your actual competence and kindness in taking care of every item was priceless. I am not sure what I would have done if I hadn’t come across such a stuff like this. It’s possible to now look forward to my future. Thanks so much for your skilled and result oriented help. I will not be reluctant to refer the sites to any person who would like counselling about this topic.

    Like

  2. Wow! Thank you! I always needed to write on my website something like that. Can I take a part of your post to my site?

    Like

Leave a Reply

